Skip to Content

Noosa Shire Council

Media Releases Media Releases

View our media releases by year or use the Search Media Releases tool below to find a specific news article.

Media Releases 2017 Media Releases 2016
Media Releases 2015 Media Releases 2014
« Back

Floating Land artworks announced

Nine local artists have been commissioned by Noosa Council to produce sculptural installations along the foreshores of Tewantin and Boreen Point for this year’s Floating Land event.

Seven of the artists have been directly involved in previous Floating Land events and will produce works in the Reflect category and two artists have been commissioned in the Re-imagine category.

Together, the artists’ works will highlight the connections between art, the environment and people, linking these elements at the waterfront of Lake Cootharaba and the Noosa River at Tewantin.

The sculptural works will be installed and on display for various periods during the seven-week period of Floating Land 2015, which will be held from 27 August to 18 October.

"Since its inception in 2001, Noosa's bi-annual Floating Land event has become a much respected 'green art' festival. With its emphasis on outdoor sculpture and installation works, plus its celebration of the natural environment, the festival really is accessible to everyone,” Cr Tony Wellington said.

"I know how difficult it was for the committee to select artists from the wide range of proposals submitted. We are blessed in Noosa and across the Sunshine Coast to have so many exceptionally talented and creative individuals. Certainly Floating Land is a magnificent showcase for that talent.

"There is something for everyone in this year's event, from interactive soundscapes to striking sculptural forms. Some of the works on display will require direct participation of the local community, particularly schoolchildren.

"Personally, I am really looking forward to this 8th iteration of the Floating Land arts festival," Cr Wellington said.

2015 Floating Land artists

Category: Reflect

  • Kari & Ross Annels – Reflective Temple
  • Rene Bahloo – Inside On The Outside
  • Leah Barclay – Yaman Wira
  • Lyndon Davis – Shell Midden Stories
  • Kris Martin – Earth Being
  • Simon McVerry – Beneath The Surface
  • Elizabeth Poole – Weyba Revisited

Category: Re-imagine

  • Lisa Brummel – Do Not Disturb
  • Julie Wall – Omega Voyage

23 June 2015